Soon, the Internet will change in a major way. ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers), the non-profit organization that oversees the Internet’s domain name system, plans to open its doors to new gTLD (generic top-level domain) applications.

Currently there are 21 gTLDs in use on the Internet today. A Top-level domain is what Internet users are accustomed to seeing on the right-most side of a domain name, e.g. .com, .net, and .org.

The introduction of new gTLDs will add a wide variety of new extensions for consumers to choose from. We expect a steady stream of innovation to take place in the next few years as the new gTLD program takes off. The information below should give you an idea of what is to come.


Expansion Period

Top-Level Domains

Original gTLDs (Prior to 1998)

.com .net .edu .gov .int .mil .org .arpa

1st gTLD Expansion (2000)

.aero .biz .coop .info .museum .name .pro

2nd gTLD Expansion (2004)

.asia .cat .jobs .mobi .tel .travel